What happened? (Destiny)

by Kahzgul, Thursday, June 23, 2016, 17:56 (2835 days ago) @ cheapLEY

Didn't they do a ViDoc before Destiny launched about how great Grognok was?

There's no question that it's a very powerful level editor with lots of options. But the Kotaku article (from... a year ago?) stated that it took 24 hours to open a single map, regardless of the change being made. That's crazy talk and I'm really shocked it was allowed. Almost every detail I've heard about how vanilla Destiny was set up, designed, and worked on made my brain hurt. The entire workflow of the company back then seemed to be a list of "never do these things" taken from the wall of my old studios. I'm almost surprised Destiny didn't ship as an FMV game. And listen, I worked in test for 13 years. I'm no veteran designer. But I could easily tell that there were really bad mistakes being made on the back end. If I was Cody, I'd have saved a bookmark of my prophetic statements to that effect, but I don't actually care that much. The point is that a tool can be powerful but if it's not easy to use, it doesn't matter.

I'll relate this to my real life: