Horizon Zero Dawn - Fighting the biggest game (vids) (Off-Topic)

by Kahzgul, Tuesday, March 21, 2017, 22:49 (2586 days ago)
edited by Kahzgul, Tuesday, March 21, 2017, 22:57

If anyone doubts the awesome action of HZD, here are a couple of vids I took while playing over the last few days. Minor spoilers in terms of fight mechanics here, since I feel like fighting each enemy type for the first time is really interesting in terms of figuring out what works, so if you want that pure experience for yourself, I wouldn't watch these. All fights are on Hard difficulty.

First: A Stormbird. This is my first time ever fighting one, so you can see I'm playing it very safe. It also locks on to some roving guards just after my initial assault, so I get a few cheap shots as a result that really help me out. I'm using some fairly strong weapons, and I'm level 40-something, so keep in mind that this is a nearly max skilled character fighting this guy for the first time.

This second video is a set fight in Cauldron Zeta, so if you don't want (minor) fight spoilers about what a staged battle in that zone is, you probably shouldn't watch. That being said, this was a goddamn awesome fight. I left in a bunch of set-up where I try to lay traps and set my strategy for engagement, and then, of course, you can see how pretty much all of that goes to shit right away.

Minor spoilers follow:

While this is my first attempt at this specific fight, I'm a pretty well versed in how to fight a thunderjaw, so unlike the stormbird fight, I know exactly how I'm going to approach this. That being said, Thunderjaws are badass, and there is no magic bullet to killing them (at least, not that I've found yet). LOVE this fight.

If anyone wants to talk hunting strategy or has questions about what and why I'm doing in either of these fights (or how I take down any other enemy in the game), feel free to ask here.

This game is so great!

Not enough Fire/Ice arrows