Knew it, Destiny is using technics to ADDICT us (Destiny)

by ChrisTheeCrappy, Thursday, April 02, 2015, 18:21 (3329 days ago)

I know some said I was crazy and that they wouldn't engineer a game that way. But they did and they admitted in the GDC presentations. I didn't have time to read them all yet (I also always go for the more technical ones anyways, in terms of code as I am a programmer myself), but IGN posted how they admitted to designing the game to make you addicted and not wanted to put it down. This is the type of stuff that scares me, cause I don't like that someone else can control my actions in such a grand scheme. I would imagine, and hope, that this type of thing would seriously be illegal, it's like when Coka cola actually put COKE in their drink, so you would be addicted and buy more.

http://www.ign.com/articles/2015/04/02/bungie-used-behavioral-psychology-to-make-destiny-appealing

I don't get what you are mad it. This was OBVIOUS from day 1

by Revenant1988 ⌂ @, How do I forum?, Thursday, April 02, 2015, 18:43 (3329 days ago) @ ChrisTheeCrappy

Of course they want you to keep playing their game.

That's the way they can continue to make money.

Making more money allows them to make more game(s).

There isn't anything insidious about it. It's not like they're sitting in a dark room, twirling their mustaches trying to get you hooked with malicious intent.

It comes down to the individual, and ultimately what they like. I hesitate to say there is a "wrong" way to play Destiny, but it is obvious that it is designed to give the player incentive to play a little bit everyday. How is it doing this?

*Daily heroic mission
*Refreshing bounties
*Various economies to upgrade armor and guns
*Factions and reputation
*Caps on what you can earn