Should I Give A Listen? (Destiny)

by Morpheus @, High Charity, Thursday, March 03, 2022, 16:45 (777 days ago)

So, the Witch Queen is out, and of course the assets to go with it. Word is buzzing (no pun intended) and reviews—for the most part—are stellar. I can’t help but wonder though, should I get the accompanying soundtrack? This will be the first time that I will have purchased a soundtrack for a Bungie game that I don’t plan to get. I’ve never done that before in my life, and I don’t know how to feel about that. Do I get the music, and run the risk of being tempted to drown back into FOMO addiction? Or do I shut myself out entirely, and block everything? I’ve actually been thinking about this for weeks, and surprisingly, I still can’t come to a decision. Any advice?

Should I Give A Listen?

by Kermit @, Raleigh, NC, Thursday, March 03, 2022, 17:04 (777 days ago) @ Morpheus

So, the Witch Queen is out, and of course the assets to go with it. Word is buzzing (no pun intended) and reviews—for the most part—are stellar. I can’t help but wonder though, should I get the accompanying soundtrack? This will be the first time that I will have purchased a soundtrack for a Bungie game that I don’t plan to get. I’ve never done that before in my life, and I don’t know how to feel about that. Do I get the music, and run the risk of being tempted to drown back into FOMO addiction? Or do I shut myself out entirely, and block everything? I’ve actually been thinking about this for weeks, and surprisingly, I still can’t come to a decision. Any advice?

It's gloomy, like the Dark Below or the Taken King. This isn't my favorite subgenre of Destiny music, so consider that. It does its job, but so far there's nothing that jumps out at me like several tracks in the Beyond expansion. Also consider that I haven't finished the campaign yet.