AI Created Image won TWAB AOTW (Destiny)

by ManKitten, The Stugotz is strong in me., Tuesday, February 07, 2023, 06:19 (438 days ago)

https://www.forbes.com/sites/paultassi/2023/02/05/ai-art-accidentally-wins-destiny-2s-art-of-the-week-fanart-contest/...

As a professional artist, I've used AI images before...but as jumping off points. For brainstorming. My finished product will not look like the AI image, just inspired by it. It stinks that people put a lot of time and effort into their art and a 5 second prompt of text takes the win. It also stinks how many business will host a "design our logo" contest instead of paying a designer to do it.

Anyway.

What so you?

Wow! Those prompt engineers put in some hard work!

by Anna Komnene, Tuesday, February 07, 2023, 08:29 (438 days ago) @ ManKitten

- No text -

AI Created Image won TWAB AOTW

by Cody Miller @, Music of the Spheres - Never Forgot, Tuesday, February 07, 2023, 08:48 (438 days ago) @ ManKitten

It stinks that people put a lot of time and effort into their art and a 5 second prompt of text takes the win. It also stinks how many business will host a "design our logo" contest instead of paying a designer to do it.

Contests like that do stink.

But I'm not sure AI art does.

To me, gauging the quality of a work by effort has always seemed misguided. That would imply that a savant who can effortlessly conjure drawings somehow has less valuable work than someone who works incredibly hard at it over time. It makes no sense to me - the aesthetics of the final image are all that matter. I don't think people really care either - if they did every entry into an art contest would include exhaustive documentation of the process of creation. But they don't. They just look at the image.