Reliving the glory days - long winded and bloviating (Destiny)

by Revenant1988 ⌂ @, How do I forum?, Tuesday, January 20, 2015, 06:10 (3385 days ago) @ Fuertisimo

I've had a slowly dawning realization over the past couple of years. With age comes the atrophy of my video gaming skills. Currently I find myself sitting at thirty years of age, and I am now certain that my peak came long ago and I will never be near that level again.

The game that has beaten me over the head and worn me down into accepting this truth is League of Legends. Like a professional athlete that has lost a step, my focus and technical ability are on the downslope. It's a trend I don't see stopping. Real life obligations and pursuits prevent me from practicing like I did when I was a young dumb college student (I am now an old dumb college student, thanks in part to being a young dumb college student). While I maintain a respectable Gold rating, and have as recently as a year ago been in promos for platinum, I can not even imagine ever having the drive or the ability to make a push into platinum and towards diamond.

As I come to accept this, I am finding myself waxing nostalgic for my glory days when I was a fearsome competitor, when I was ruthless and bloodthirsty and headstrong and had the skill to back it up. I find myself recalling my most memorable moments, my greatest triumphs and my most bitter defeats.

There are only two games in my life that I can say without a trace of doubt that I was very, very good at. Well three really, if you're not going to lump Myth:TFL and Myth 2 together. Halo 2 was the other one.

My most memorable moment came in Halo 2 (and god I wish there were saved films back then because I had some doozies). This moment was not the single most skilled moment I ever had, but it was memorable thanks to my opposition.