A problem that doesn't exist (Gaming)

by Oholiab @, Thursday, January 09, 2014, 19:03 (3766 days ago)

Thoughtful article on Polygon about the addition of physical game controllers to improve mobile gaming.

http://www.polygon.com/2014/1/9/5291914/iphone-physical-buttons-problem-that-doesnt-exist

I'm not a game designer, though I would like to take a turn at it someday. But as an architect and designer, I appreciate when new technology is used to create new experiences, rather than replicate existing ones. I don't expect my iPad to take the place of my console and the unique experience of gaming in my living room. Rather, I want great designers to innovate new experiences for mobile gaming. In my humble opinion, that's far more intriguing.

So... all you amazing game designers: keep pushing for new ways to use new technology to captivate, engage, and entertain! Can't wait to see what you come up with next...

"Doesn't exist."

by uberfoop @, Seattle-ish, Thursday, January 09, 2014, 19:09 (3766 days ago) @ Oholiab

So if I'm on the go, and I want to play a sort of game that benefits from buttons...?

"Doesn't exist."

by Oholiab @, Thursday, January 09, 2014, 19:19 (3766 days ago) @ uberfoop

Yeah, I see your point.

I suppose that what I was getting at is that I'd rather see great games made for mobile devices that didn't need to benefit from external add-ons or controllers. I think there's so much potential for new experiences, and I hope developers keep pushing the envelope.

Edited a typo

"Doesn't exist."

by Cody Miller @, Music of the Spheres - Never Forgot, Thursday, January 09, 2014, 22:06 (3766 days ago) @ uberfoop

So if I'm on the go, and I want to play a sort of game that benefits from buttons...?