Asset Systems and Scalability (Destiny)

by Cody Miller @, Music of the Spheres - Never Forgot, Wednesday, January 04, 2017, 17:36 (2659 days ago)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KXVox0-7lU

Just started watching, but it this seems to be a technical talk from Chris Butcher about the scalability of Destiny, and why they finally dropped last gen support.

Cool. Saw this yesterday then forgot about it... Will watch.

by Ragashingo ⌂, Official DBO Cryptarch, Wednesday, January 04, 2017, 17:56 (2659 days ago) @ Cody Miller

- No text -

TLDW:

by Cody Miller @, Music of the Spheres - Never Forgot, Wednesday, January 04, 2017, 18:49 (2659 days ago) @ Ragashingo
edited by Cody Miller, Wednesday, January 04, 2017, 19:02

The PS3 support regarding data dependency is what fucked Bungie.

It was pretty fascinating and way more in depth than that. I can do my best to summarize for those who don't have 90 minutes to spare, but I'm not a programmer. I think I understand though.

Super Facinating!

by Ragashingo ⌂, Official DBO Cryptarch, Thursday, January 05, 2017, 03:31 (2658 days ago) @ Cody Miller
edited by Ragashingo, Thursday, January 05, 2017, 03:44

Here's some notes I sorta wrote while watching. They explain the problems in a lot more detail and its very much worth watching if you have a bit of programming knowledge. My version below is greatly simiplified and probably a bit wrong but it gets the gist enought right... I hope...

In Halo, all the different assets (sounds, shaders, models, the concept of an enemy AI unit, etc) were all fairly separate. This meant you could swap out the sound an exploding box made with a different sound and quickly rebuild the game and test your result. Maybe that new sound file had to be compressed down into the right console specific format, but no big deal. Same with models, same with everything.