God of War--Initial Impressions *No Spoilers* (Gaming)

by cheapLEY @, Friday, April 20, 2018, 21:50 (2195 days ago) @ Korny

I'm a few hours in now. I just opened up the lake and met the second craftsman, for those that have played that far.

I have not been this into a game in quite a while.

First thing's first: Teal'c is the voice of Kratos! And it's amazing. A quick google shows me that info has been know for like a year now, but I didn't know it, and it was a great surprise when the game started and his name showed up.

Second thing: This game is gorgeous. Horizon: Zero Dawn gorgeous. Better, in a lot of ways, if just slightly less impressive because of its smaller scale. The area with the Witch almost literally took my breath away. While obviously technically beautiful, the art design of God of War is just stunning.

Now, the most important thing: Combat in God of War is good. Really, really good. I only played the demo for God of War III, so I have no prior experience with the game. So far, this combat is shaping up to be some of my favorite in any game ever. It starts slow. Honestly, I thought too slow, but I'm just now starting to get into more of the skill tree (and only just barely), and I've come to realize that it had to start slow. There are so many options and so much customization--if they went any faster with opening things up, I'd have very easily been overwhelmed. There is a surprising learning curve, but once I got the controls down (I swapped the X and O inputs for a slightly more natural feel), it is so smooth and very, very satisfying.