*Spoilers* (Gaming)

by cheapLEY @, Sunday, September 01, 2019, 09:07 (1693 days ago) @ Ragashingo

I'm just marking this whole post as spoilers, so I don't have to tag individual things.

First, regarding performance: Even on a One X it's not stellar. It's not awful, but there are some noticeable annoyances. FPS drops to the mid 20s or so during the bigger combat encounters. Still totally playable, but its very noticeable. Leaving the regular menu was fine, but if I actually paused the game, the game would stutter for like 5 seconds when I started playing again. I also had issues with the map loading pretty frequently. Video playback was fine if I did it through the collections menu, but it stuttered and had audio sync issues if I was just watching it in the game world off a projector or whatever.

There was one that didn't play at all. It was an audio tape about Polaris. It's just completely blank, both in the world and when I played it through the menu. It was right before I entered the dump, I think.

Now, regarding story and characters. I never actually finished Alan Wake, so I can't compare (I'm looking for a copy, now, though!). I like the story overall more than Quantum Break, but I think a lot of that is just due to setting, world building, and presentation. The actual main story of Control doesn't have a whole lot going on. I think that's okay, though, and I liked where it ended up. I see where you're coming from on the character point. I think Trench and Darling were really interesting even though we never interacted with them. I actually really like the way that was handled. I quite liked Emily Pope. I do think there was opportunity to have some more interesting characters in the mix, but I really like what we got. Ahti was great every time he showed up.