"Destiny" (Destiny)

by RaichuKFM @, Northeastern Ohio, Tuesday, September 26, 2017, 17:41 (2455 days ago) @ Cody Miller

Oh, is this an excuse to go on about one of my more favorite topics, in my amateur grasp of philosophy? I think it is!

It's interesting that you bring up the Greek stories, as something to emulate, and yet seem to want "Guardians make their own fate" to be a thing that's true. Because, and while I'll stress again here that I am an amateur who's mainly poked around on surface level things and read some works in high school, the idea of Greek fate isn't what you want either. It's an inescapable predestination; even the Gods have to obey it. And while many stories have this in keeping with free will, even resulting from it- Oedipus is prophesied to kill his father, and it is his father's reaction to this prophecy that eventually leads to his death at Oedipus's hands- some others are... less so. I'm not sure if there's much of a Greek idea of fate countervailing free will, (off the top of my head all I have is the rationale they gave Alexander to console him after he drunkenly murdered his friend, that it was the will of the gods that he die then and Alexander was merely their implement, but that's not quite Greek though) but there are situations where it's more about circumstance. Acrisius learns that his daughter's son will kill him, so he locks her away. And then Zeus just shows up as a beam of light and gets her pregnant, because, well, he's Zeus, he does that. So he threw them into the sea, which, by more divine intervention, led them to another island and Perseus going on to be, well, Perseus. Then later he throws a discus which accidentally strikes a man in the stands, oh hey that was Acrisius that wraps up that prophecy. This is still in keeping with free will, but rather than being born purely as consequences of their actions it's kind of divine will and coincidence. And I know it's a theme that even the gods are subject to Fate. Nobody can