Maybe this is why Bungie hates story-telling now? (Destiny)

by Kahzgul, Friday, February 06, 2015, 11:05 (3375 days ago) @ iconicbanana

So I think it makes perfect sense when someone who isn't telling the story, but instead is trying to present someone else's story that doesn't make sense to them, says they hate storytelling.

I disagree. Someone who says they hate storytelling has no business telling stories, period. Give their job to someone else.

Let me explain:

I'm a professional Editor, and my job is to tell someone else's story in a more cohesive way than they can. Very often, the way the story is presented to me doesn't make sense at all. But I love storytelling. LOVE it. Distilling that confused mess down is a skill, to be sure, but it isn't an inherently challenging or obtuse process. It's all about breaking the narrative down to the key points, separating the wheat from the chaff, and then building that narrative back up to really highlight the key elements.

The video on the front page at DBO is a *great* example of someone doing just that. In fact, he's telling the Dark Below's story in a dramatically better way than Bungie did, using only the materials that Bungie has published. It's shocking to me how compelling the story is when told that way, and how bland and boring the story is when told the way that Bungie is telling it. There's a massive disconnect there. Whoever is in charge of the narrative in Destiny needs to be given a lot more power and resources, giving them the benefit of the doubt on their ability to actually tell a story, given their druthers.

it's part of what's so frustrating about the game. The lore is there. The writing on the grimoire cards is compelling. But the actual in-game content is atrocious on all levels. It's laughable and shameful at the same time.

--